Starbucks Brings Your Coffee to Life

Whether you are a coffee drinker or not, Starbucks has launched a very cool mobile app today that brings its holiday red cups to life. Yes, you read that correctly. Starting today, the holiday red cups come alive with an augmented reality app for smartphones (for both iPhones and Androids!).

Since I’m a green tea drinker myself, I don’t normally frequent Starbucks that often, but I do find myself very curious to try this app out. The app allows you to scan five Starbucks holiday characters on red cups and 47 other in store items, like bags of coffee and displays, and watch as they come to life.

To make it even more interesting, those who activate all five characters can qualify to win an as of right now unnamed prize. If you know me, you know I’m competitive and I like to win, so I just might change up my morning routine and stop in for Starbucks this week to check this out.

What about you? Do you think the augmented app is the wave of the future or a waste of marketing effort and money?

Watch the demonstration video here.

– Telleen Anderson-Lozano

One response to “Starbucks Brings Your Coffee to Life

  1. I think it’s an interesting idea. I’ve seen augmented reality used for greeting cards from a marketing company and it was pretty slick. I do believe it might be a complete waste of marketing dollars, but when you are charging four and a half bucks for a latte’ you can probably afford to burn a little cash. Interesting concept, but I drink my coffee at Caribou, Starbucks always tastes bitter to me.

Leave a Reply

