Myth Buster: Interning is more than coffee fetching

The word “intern” can often have negative connotations attached to it. Intern, to some people, can mean grabbing coffee for everyone in the office, running back and forth to UPS, and many other daunting tasks, which, honestly, no one really ever wants to do. But I can tell you first-hand that the communications 21 intern program is unlike any other. I interned throughout college at PR agencies, television and radio stations, and thought I had experienced it all. Then my first day at c21 rolled around, and I knew that this would be the most real-world experience internship I have had.

Although the “mega” staff meeting on my first day was quite overwhelming, I quickly became accustomed to office processes and how things get done. The first week of my internship was filled with one-on-one training with each employee. I got the download on each c21 client and what we do for them, as well as the specs of every program and database we use. While I am still learning about clients and programs each day, everyone is extremely helpful and willing to guide me through the experience.

I have been able to work in every facet of PR and marketing—media relations, social media, reporting and email marketing. Pitching and media calls have become a “practice makes perfect” task and something I will continually work to perfect. I’ve also learned that engaging content is key when it comes to social media, and it’s not always easy to come across. It takes research and patience to find interesting content that followers will enjoy.  Numbers were never really my thing, so I am happy I am getting the chance to learn about analytics, reporting and the significance of ROI to our clients.

I’ve only been here two months, but I already feel that I have been challenged at c21. I have had to think outside of the box with many different projects and be resourceful. Also, I feel more included and treated like a full-time employee than I have at any other internship. I am a part of staff and team meetings and really get a sense of what everyone is working on at all times, which is extremely important when it comes to internal communication in the office. I look forward to the next few months and what else I will learn and gain from my experience at c21.

Amy Geismar is an alumna of the Florida State University, where she received her Bachelor of Arts in Editing, Writing and Media and was active in her sorority. After graduating in April 2011, she moved to Los Angeles for an internship with a fashion and lifestyle PR firm. She moved back to Atlanta to be closer to family and friends. Amy enjoys hiking, catching up on the latest celebrity gossip and spending time with her niece and nephews.

 

Leave a Reply

